I made these calzones a while ago but I thought they were unique and delicious and worth a try if you have these ingredients in the house!

I don’t have a real recipe for these so I will give you the gist of what it was and let you play around with it to make it your own!!

65a83281525eda63981b8faafa679c07

What you’ll need:

2 large chicken breasts, 1 medium onion (sliced), 1 tablespoon of oil and butter, salt, BBQ sauce of your choosing, you favorite melty cheese, pizza dough, and 1 egg!

Preheat your oven to 350°F

Let’s Get Started!

benwyatt-calzones-3

First:  I cut my chicken into strips and marinated for most of a day in BBQ sauce. I use enough sauce to coat the chicken entirely. After they marinate for at least 3 hours I took them out and cooked them in my nonstick skillet (this was messy as the BBQ sauce did pop and fly everywhere so nonstick is the easiest for clean up.)

Second:  While cooking the chicken I also caramelized my sliced onion.  If you don’t know how to caramelize onions go here!  I don’t use this same technique but I do use a mix of oil and butter when I caramelize my onions.

Third:  After cooking both my chicken and onions, I kill the heat and set the onions aside in a bowl as I cut my chicken.  When I cut my chicken I tend to want smaller pieces for calzones and pizzas so there is more chicken in every bite.

Forth: I roll out my pizza dough to the size I want for each calzone.  I like to make 2 larger calzones but it is whatever you prefer.

20170113_182723

Fifth:  Assemble!!! For my calzones I did cheese, chicken, onions, a another cheese, and BBQ sauce. Once all your ingredients are in how you’d like them you need to press the edges so you don’t have any spills. I use a fork and do a crisscross pattern around the edge.

20170113_182832

Sixth: In a small bowl mix your egg and a small amount of water together to make an egg wash. Coat your scales calzones, put them on a tin foil or silpat lined baking sheet, and place them in your preheated oven.

Since all you are doing in cooking the dough and melting your cheese this should take no longer than 12 minutes, so keep and eye on your calzones!

20170113_190415

