My Nana has always made a dish called Spanish Rice. It is not at all like actual Spanish Rice but it holds a happy place in my heart that nothing else can fill.  I made it the other day and let me tell you, this is an extremely easy dish that can last you all week (if you aren’t like me and my S.O. and eat is all in one sitting.)

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients

1 lb ground beef

1/4 of a cup of beef stock or broth (or water if you have neither)

1 packet of onion soup mix

1/2 of a red or yellow onion – diced

1 – 15 oz. can diced tomatoes

2 cups cooked rice – add more if still soupy

Hot sauce to taste


Preparation

For this recipe I use a large stock pot  on medium heat since you tend to make a lot of food and don’t want to burn anything in the process.  If you notice the heat is either too high or low adjust to your liking.

First you brown the ground beef then add in the stock/broth/water to get up all the ground beef that is sticking to the pan.  Next add in the onion soup packet and stir in.  Add in the diced half an onion, can of tomatoes, and rice then mix together.  At this point you can add hot sauce to your liking, Nana and I tend to use Louisiana  Hot Sauce because it has great flavor and isn’t super spicy.  Let this all cook together for about 10-15 minutes, staring occasionally so the rice doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pot.  Once it has done cooking remove from heat and serve in a nice big bowl!

screen-shot-2016-12-28-at-8-40-48-pm


 

I hope you try out this recipe and let me know how it goes for you!!

 

