This past weekend I made not 1, not 2, but 5 different kinds of treats to give away as holiday gifts.  As per usual not everything went as planned and Also as per usual I did not have everything I needed to make everything I wanted but I do think that the things I did make that turned out worked really well and I’d love to share them with you all!

Betty Crocker Molasses Cookies

The first thing I made was a bag mix of molasses cookies from Betty Crocker. These cookies are super chewy, moist and exceedingly simple to make.  All you need to add to this mix is eggs, water, and butter. Super simple and no one even has to know that you didn’t slave over the recipe for hours.

Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

What you will need:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 4 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • small bowl full of confectioners’ sugar

Step 1: mix together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, salt and baking soda in a small bowl.

Step 2: Melt chocolate in either a double boiler or the microwave. Set aside till room temp.

Step 3: Mix butter, brown sugar, and eggs together until fluffy.

Step 4: Add in melted chocolate

Step 5: Slowly add in flour mixture until combined.

Step 6: Refrigerate for a minimum of 2 hours – overnight.

Once mixture is chilled sufficiently preheat oven to 350 and start balling mixture into 1 inch balls.  Once dough is balled roll it in a small bowl of confectioner’s sugar until no dough shows through. Place on cookie sheet about 1 inch apart and bake for 12-14 minutes, they are done when the cookies are cracked and the sides of the cookies are getting crispy.

Sugar Cookies

The last most important cookies I’d like to share with you all are Mrs. Brady’s Sugar Cookies.  Now these cookies were passed onto me by my best friend’s mom who makes the ultimate christmas cookies.

12355083_10201060847120890_885119174_n

